Green-Eyed Girls

Poetry

Only three percent of the world’s population

Possess some form of green colored eyes.

How strange it is that your list of ex-lovers

All seem to share this sweet surprise.

Maybe you don’t know this about yourself

But clearly, I think you do.

See you have this thing for green-eyed girls

And it’s obvious you crave this hue.

Each face is distinct, a different kind, but

Look closely at the pigment on their rims.

Your favorite color swirling inside the orbs,

A simple piece of the forest living in them.

Your first girlfriend in high school was the

Cheerleader or popular kind, I guess.

I’m sure her sea foam eyes matched the color

Of her corsage, and sparkly prom dress.

Next up was a single mom with a son whom you

Wrestled with while he wore his army gear.

Her eyes reflected the color of her son’s combat helmet

And you three were an item for a little over two years.

Heartbreak can lead you down a disastrous path though

And sometimes alter your ever-changing views.

I’m not sure if you thought this girl was the one but

It seemed like the situation left more than a bruise.

This path led you to a younger woman’s bed who had

Similar features of your ex, casting an illusion.

None of this resembled a relationship that was real

Which led you down another trail of confusion.

Soon you attached yourself to another innocent bystander

Who was focused and determined to keep you forever.

Fire red hair flowing next to her emerald eyes full of awe

And yet you ran off looking for something better.

Another single mother with a daughter this time

And olive eyes glowing between thin black creases.

But she wasn’t the one you’d been searching for

So you left her and her heart in a million pieces.

I’m afraid to say this is the part where we finally reach

My side of this crazy green-eyed girl story.

I never thought I was a distraction from your crazy life

But I also didn’t yet know of those who came before me.

You were falling into a spiral and this time

I was the one trapped in your vicious web.

I wanted it to feel right when we were together

But all you wanted was me in your bed.

My green eyes have always been something

I loved about my outward appearance.

But when you saw them it was nothing

Just another soul on clearance.

So congrats, you made me a green-eyed monster

Filled to the brim with crazy envy.

Because the next girl you began to date

Stole my eyes so you can easily forget me.

Leave a Reply

